Golf Simulator
Room-Fit Calculator
Enter your room depth, width and ceiling, your height, your handedness and the longest club you will swing. The calculator checks every manufacturer-published space figure, the enclosure you are considering, and the ceiling your swing needs, and tells you which numbers are published, which are derived, and which are GolfLaunchLab's own planning guidance.
Room fit is three separate questions and most guides blur them. Depth is set by where the sensor sits: makers that publish a figure put behind-ball units at 14 to 18 ft total, SkyTrak's beside-ball unit at 12 ft minimum (Minimum 12 feet long; recommended 15 feet long (knowledge base).), and overhead units at the least floor space. Ceiling is set by your swing, and only 5 makers publish a number or guideline (9 to 10 ft); the rest leave it to you, so GolfLaunchLab's planning bands fill that gap and are labelled as such. Width and handedness decide which wall needs the clearance and which side of the ball a camera unit sits on. The calculator below runs all three against your room, then adds the enclosure frame so you see the whole depth budget. 12 of 18 units publish a room figure; 6 publish only placement; 0 publish nothing, and the calculator says so rather than guessing.
About this data. GolfLaunchLab is an independent golf technology research publication written by Jordan Hale. It does not bench-test products. The Golf Simulator Room-Fit Dataset compiles figures from manufacturer and first-party retailer pages, links the source next to every number, and records the capture date (2026-10-30) so a reader or an AI assistant can check each claim at its origin. Where a maker publishes nothing, the cell says UNPUBLISHED. The full approach is on the GolfLaunchLab methodology page; corrections are welcome through the about page.
Check your room
Enter the room in feet at the hitting position (measure under joists, ducts and lights, not in the corner). Launch-monitor verdicts use only each manufacturer's published figures; the golfer-height check is GolfLaunchLab planning guidance and says so.
1. Ceiling for your swing
2. Launch monitors against your room
3. Handedness
4. Enclosure and total depth
Nothing above is a measurement of your room or your swing. Published minimums are the manufacturer's; the planning bands are GolfLaunchLab's editorial guidance; the depth budget is simple addition of published parts. Before you buy, take your longest club to the hitting position and make a slow, full swing.
The Room-Fit Dataset
These are the figures the calculator reads. Every launch-monitor row links the manufacturer page or manual it came from, with the capture date. UNPUBLISHED means the maker publishes nothing for that field. "Derived" means the maker published the parts (for example 6 ft behind the tee plus 8 ft tee to net) and the total is that arithmetic, shown in the row.
| Launch monitor | Sensor and placement | Unit to ball | Ball to screen | Total depth | Width | Ceiling | Left-handed setup | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SkyTrak+ / ST MAX | Photometric, beside ball | a SKYTRAK Launch Monitor sits next to the ball vs other launch monitors that require up to 8' behind the hitting area. No unit-to-ball distance published as text; the knowledge-base ball placement article is diagrams only. | Enough length in your room to set up your net with about 10 feet for hitting and 1-2 feet of clearance for the golf balls. (knowledge base) | 12 ft (minimum) Minimum 12 feet long; recommended 15 feet long (knowledge base). | 10 ft (minimum) | 9 ft (minimum) | UNPUBLISHED as a placement instruction. Plan Your Space only says: if you anticipate both right-handed and left-handed players using the simulator, it's wise to have an additional 1' to 2' of width. | SKYTRAK Plan Your Space captured 2026-10-30 |
| Rapsodo MLM2PRO | Radar + camera hybrid, behind ball | The MLM2PRO is designed to sit 6.5-8.5 feet directly behind the ball aimed down the target line. | First, 8 feet is needed from ball to the net. | 14 ft (stated total) A little more than 14 total feet is needed. First, 8 feet is needed from ball to the net. Then, the MLM2PRO requires another 6.5-8.5 feet behind the ball. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found on the product page. Note: Taller players may need to place the device further back to capture their entire swing video. | Rapsodo MLM2PRO product page captured 2026-10-30 |
| Garmin Approach R10 | Radar, behind ball | Place the launch monitor on the ground between 6 ft. and 8 ft. (1.8 m and 2.4 m) behind the tee location. | The tee location must be at least 8 ft. (2.4 m) away from the net when playing indoors. | 14 ft (derived) 6 ft behind the tee plus 8 ft tee to net, Garmin's own figures (16 ft at the 8 ft behind-ball maximum). Garmin publishes no total. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the manual | Garmin Approach R10 owner's manual, Preparing for a Shot captured 2026-10-30 |
| FlightScope Mevo+ | Radar, behind ball | Manual Setback page: INDOOR 8' (2.4m) sensor to tee; SHORT INDOOR 8' (2.4m) sensor to tee; OUTDOOR 7'-8' (2.1m-2.4m) sensor to tee. FAQ: 7-9 feet sensor to tee distance. | Manual: INDOOR 13' (4m) min., Metallic dots required; SHORT INDOOR 8' (2.4m) min., Metallic dots required. FAQ Limited Flight: 8 feet of ball flight minimum. | 16 ft (derived) 8 ft sensor to tee plus 8 ft minimum ball flight (short indoor / limited flight), FlightScope's own figures; 21 ft with the 13 ft indoor-mode minimum. FlightScope publishes no total. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the manual | FlightScope Mevo+ user manual (E19-BN276-Iss3), Setup - Setback captured 2026-10-30 |
| FlightScope Mevo Gen2 | Radar, behind ball | For Full Swing Sessions indoors or outdoors, place the Mevo Gen2 8 feet directly behind the ball. FAQ: 7-9 feet sensor to tee distance. | Limited Flight: 7-9 feet sensor to tee distance with 8 feet of ball flight minimum (FAQ). | 16 ft (derived) 8 ft behind the ball plus 8 ft minimum ball flight, FlightScope's own figures. FlightScope publishes no total. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the setup guide or FAQ | FlightScope blog, How To Set Up Your Mevo Gen2 captured 2026-10-30 |
| Swing Caddie SC4 / SC4 Pro | Radar, behind ball | Unfold the stand of SC4 and put it on the ground 5ft behind Tee. FAQ: Distance of Swing Caddie behind the ball is approx. 5 feet. SC4 Pro: 5 ft behind the ball on the same level as the ball. | If net is used, make sure you have at least 10 feet in front of the ball to the net. SC4 Pro: we recommend 10 FT from the ball to the net/screen. | 15 ft (derived) 5 ft behind the tee plus 10 ft ball to net, Voice Caddie's own figures. Voice Caddie publishes no total. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the manual | Voice Caddie SC4 user manual captured 2026-10-30 |
| Blue Tees Rainmaker | Radar, behind ball | Place Rainmaker exactly 5 feet directly behind the ball, level with it, and aimed straight down your target line. | leave at least 10 feet of open space between the ball and your net or impact screen. Help center: 10-14 feet of ball flight in front of the hitting area; 14+ feet from ball to net will give you the most reliable readings. | 15 ft (stated total) roughly 15-19 feet of usable space from the unit to the net as a baseline (help center). | UNPUBLISHED | 10 ft (guideline) | Automatically detects left- and right-handed golfers. No manual switching required. | Blue Tees blog, Blue Tees Rainmaker Setup: How to Get Accurate Numbers captured 2026-10-30 |
| Full Swing KIT | Radar, behind ball | set your KIT 10 feet behind the golf ball. FAQ: You will need 10 feet behind the golf ball. | 8 feet (8 feet minimum, 10 feet maximum) in front of the ball for ball flight into your screen or net. | 18 ft (derived) 10 ft behind the ball plus 8 ft minimum ball flight, Full Swing's own figures (20 ft at the 10 ft maximum). Full Swing Canada's KIT Studio 10' screen package also lists 18' length. | 12 ft (guideline) | 9 ft (guideline) | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the setup FAQ | Full Swing FAQ, How do I setup indoor golf gameplay on Full Swing KIT and E6 Connect captured 2026-10-30 |
| Uneekor EYE XO2 | Photometric (overhead), overhead | must be perfectly aligned 3 feet 6 inches in front of your tee position and between 9 - 10 feet for the ceiling height (9'-10' Height from ground to sensor). | 9'-10' Screen to hitting zone | UNPUBLISHED | 13 ft (minimum) | 9 ft (minimum) | Please ensure that you consider if you expect both left-handed and right-handed players. Overhead unit; the 13' swing area is labelled LH & RH. | Uneekor EYE XO2 user guide, Installation & Setup captured 2026-10-30 |
| TrackMan iO | Radar + imaging (overhead), overhead | Tee to iO is measured from the center of tee to center of mounting bracket; the table values did not extract from the PDF. Mounting height (hitting mat to ceiling) bands: LOW 270-290 cm / 8'10''-9'6'', MID 285-305 cm / 9'4''-10', HIGH 300-320 cm / 9'10''-10'6''. | Place the tee marker at the preferred tee/ball position on the HITTING SURFACE at least 250cm/8'2'' from the HITTING SCREEN/net. Table: Min. 250 cm / 8'2 (risk of shadowing); Recommended +300 cm / +10'+. | 18 ft (guideline) Trackman blog (brand-general): 18 feet of depth, depending on the system used; Behind the ball: Enough for a comfortable swing. | 15 ft (guideline) | 10 ft (guideline) | Blog: width should accommodate both right- and left-handed play if needed. No separate left-handed instruction in the install manual text. | Trackman iO Installation Instructions IN-0050 Rev 02.00 captured 2026-10-30 |
| Uneekor EYE MINI | Photometric, beside ball | READY ZONE diagram labels: 16'' / 40cm, 12'' / 30cm, 8'' / 20cm (the drawing, not a sentence, assigns them; 16 in is the offset from the unit). Set up and aligned parallel to your target line, using the Alignment Rod. | Uneekor help center (brand-general): recommended to be at least 12 ft for safety purposes; a minimum of 10 ft may suffice. | UNPUBLISHED | 13 ft (guideline) | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the manual | Uneekor EYE MINI user guide captured 2026-10-30 |
| Garmin Approach R50 | Photometric, beside ball | Place the launch monitor approximately 1.5 ft. (0.5 m) to the side of the desired tee location. The launch monitor must face the tee location. | UNPUBLISHED. Caution only: Ensure that any net or impact screen is set up with adequate free space behind the net or screen. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; the manual says approximately 1.5 ft. (0.5 m) to the side of the tee location and does not name a side or give a left-handed instruction | Garmin Approach R50 owner's manual, Preparing for a Shot captured 2026-10-30 |
| Bushnell Launch Pro | Photometric, beside ball | To use your Launch Pro, place upright approximately 2 feet away from the hitting area. If you are using a hitting mat, make sure the Launch Pro is raised to the same level as the hitting surface. | UNPUBLISHED. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | Quick Settings LEFT/RIGHT-HANDED: Toggle between left and right handed modes. Which side of the ball the unit sits on is shown only in a diagram, not stated in text. | Bushnell Golf Launch Pro user manual captured 2026-10-30 |
| Foresight Sports GC3 | Photometric, beside ball | To use your GC3, place upright approximately 2 feet away from the hitting area. If you are using a hitting mat, make sure the GC3 is raised to the same level as the hitting surface. | UNPUBLISHED in the manual. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | Quick Settings includes a LEFT/RIGHT-HANDED mode. No sentence states which side of the ball the unit sits on; the cameras face the ball, so the unit moves to the other side for a left-hander (diagram only). | Foresight Sports GC3 user manual captured 2026-10-30 |
| Foresight Sports GCQuad | Photometric, beside ball | place the device upright on a level surface approximately 22 inches away from the hitting area. If a hitting mat is used, make sure the device is raised to the same level as the hitting surface. | UNPUBLISHED in the manual. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | Device keys: LEFT HANDED TRACKING, Switches GCQuad to left handed tracking mode; RIGHT HANDED TRACKING. Side of ball is not stated in text. | Foresight Sports GCQuad user manual captured 2026-10-30 |
| Square Golf Omni | Photometric, beside ball | the Ready Zone begins 5cm (2 nches) to the right of the launch monitor (to the left for left-handed players) and 35cm (14 inches) in front of it. The zone measures 25 cm (10 inches) in both width and depth. | UNPUBLISHED. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | Ready Zone begins 5cm (2 nches) to the right of the launch monitor (to the left for left-handed players). FAQ: When switching between right-handed and left-handed players, the device may need to be repositioned. | Square Golf OMNI user manual, Setting Up - Ball Placement & Hitting captured 2026-10-30 |
| Shot Scope LM1 | Radar, behind ball | Place the launch monitor on the ground (preferably on the same ground level as the strike location) 1.4m (4-5ft) behind the strike location. | UNPUBLISHED. Caution only: Ensure that any net or impact screen is set up with adequate free space behind the net or screen. | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found in the manual | Shot Scope LM1 user guide captured 2026-10-30 |
| Golf Daddy Simulator | Phone camera, phone | UNPUBLISHED; the phone on a tripod films the swing and the mat reads impact; no tripod distance is stated. | Not applicable: You can practice with no ball, foam balls, or real balls. It does not track the ball itself. | 7 ft (stated total) 7x7 ft Play Space | 7 ft (stated total) | UNPUBLISHED | UNPUBLISHED; no left-handed instruction found on the product page | Golf Daddy / Benchmark Golf, Golf At Home No Ball Golf Simulator product page (golfdaddy.com product URL redirects here) captured 2026-10-30 |
Ceiling height by golfer height (GolfLaunchLab planning guidance)
GolfLaunchLab planning guidance from the ceiling-height guide (/guides/ceiling-height-for-golf-simulator/). It is editorial planning guidance for a full driver swing, not a manufacturer specification or a measurement. The final check is always a slow full swing with your longest club at the hitting position.
| Golfer height | Minimum (driver) | Recommended | Ideal |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5'4" and under | 8 ft | 8.5 ft | 9.5 ft |
| 5'5" to 5'7" | 8.25 ft | 9 ft | 9.5 ft |
| 5'8" to 5'10" | 8.5 ft | 9 ft | 10 ft |
| 5'11" to 6'1" | 9 ft | 9.5 ft | 10 ft |
| 6'2" to 6'3" | 9.25 ft | 10 ft | 10.5 ft |
| 6'4" and above | 9.5 ft | 10.5 ft | 11 ft |
What manufacturers and simulator retailers publish about ceiling height
| Source | Ceiling guidance | Golfer-height table? | Width guidance | Captured |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SkyTrak Plan Your Space | 10 ft typically ample; 9 ft enough per many golfers; a standard golfer needs at least a 9-foot ceiling and 10 feet of width to swing a driver. "a ceiling height of 10' typically offers ample clearance for most golfers, however many golfers say that 9' is enough." | No | we generally suggest a room width of 12'; add 1' to 2' of width if both right-handed and left-handed players use the simulator; 13' minimum room for a 12' wide enclosure. | 2026-10-30 |
| SkyTrak Knowledge Base, Golf Simulator Space Requirements | Minimum 9 ft (net height, depends on your height); recommended 10 ft height. "9 feet net height, this will depend on your height." | No | Minimum 10 feet wide; recommended 15 feet wide; minimum 12 feet long, recommended 15 feet long. | 2026-10-30 |
| Carl's Place, Measuring Your Space For An Indoor Golf Simulator | Minimum 8-9 ft (limited swings, dependent on golfer height, swing type, and club used); recommended 10 ft+; 10 ft or more to swing driver and accommodate taller players. "10 ft is the recommended ceiling height for a golf simulator setup." | No | Minimum 10 ft with an offset hitting area; 14 ft+ to allow centered hitting for both right- and left-handed golfers; depth minimum 15 ft, recommended 18-20 ft. | 2026-10-30 |
| The Indoor Golf Shop, How Much Space Do You Need for a Golf Simulator Setup | 8 ft absolute minimum in text (table minimum 8 ft 6 in); 9 ft optimal; 10 ft+ ideal; support article: most golfers need a 9-10 foot ceiling, taller players may require more. "While 8.5 feet high is more accommodating, a height of 9 feet or above is optimal." | No | 9-10 ft minimum; 12 ft recommended; 14 ft+ ideal; a 14' wide space is essential to centralize the tee for both right- and left-handed players. | 2026-10-30 |
| Rain or Shine Golf, What Size Room Do I Need for a Golf Simulator | 9 to 10 ft; at least 9 ft, aim for 10 ft if taller or aggressive swing. "A height of at least 9 feet is ideal, but if you're taller or have an aggressive swing, you might want to aim for 10 feet." | No | 10 to 12 feet wide; 15 feet long; stand about 8 to 10 feet from the screen. | 2026-10-30 |
| Uneekor Help Center, How much space is needed for setup | No room ceiling figure; overhead launch monitors must mount 9 to 10 ft off the ground (measured from the top of the hitting area to the bottom of the mounting bracket). "at least 13 ft to allow for full driver swings; at least 15 ft for golfers 6 ft or taller" | No | At least 13 ft wall to wall; at least 15 ft for golfers 6 ft or taller; ball to screen at least 12 ft recommended, a minimum of 10 ft may suffice. | 2026-10-30 |
| Foresight Sports EU, Golf simulators - size and space | 3 m (9 ft 10 in) height; must be sufficient for the golfer to safely swing their golf clubs; check with the longest club in the bag. "An ideal space for a full projected simulator would be in the region of 3m height, 4m width (or more) and 5/6+m depth." | No | 4 m+ (13 ft+) wide; width determines whether both right- and left-handed golfers can use the simulator; depth 5-6 m+ (16-20 ft+). | 2026-10-30 |
| Full Swing Canada, KIT Studio Packages | 9 ft ceiling minimum for the 10' screen package; 10 ft ceiling minimum for the 12' screen package. "Recommended Space Dimensions: Minimum of a 9' ceiling, 12' width, 18' length." | No | 12 ft width (10' screen package); 14 ft width (12' screen package); 18 ft length for both. | 2026-10-30 |
| TrackMan blog, How much room for a golf simulator | Ceiling height 3.0 m / 10 ft + as the practical minimum to swing comfortably. "Ten feet is the practical floor, not a luxury." | No | Room width 4.6 m / 15 ft +; screen to ball 3.0 m / 10 ft + (Trackman iO); 18 feet of depth depending on the system. | 2026-10-30 |
| AllSportSystems FAQ and enclosure height guide | 9 ft or more recommended; 8 ft or less workable with limited clubs; blog guide: 8 ft entry level, 9 to 10 ft mid range, 9 to 12 ft high end; measure the tallest player in stance and add inches. "an enclosure height of 9ft or more is recommended where possible. If your space is smaller though, enclosures measuring 8ft tall or less can also work." | No | About 12 in clearance from walls, ceilings or other objects around the bay; no room width figure. | 2026-10-30 |
| Rapsodo blog, Recommended Ceiling Height for Golf Simulator | 9 ft minimum; ceiling 6 to 9 in taller than the height of your shot; average room 10 ft H, 14 ft W, 17-18 ft D; tee about 10 ft from the impact screen. "On average, most indoor golf simulators require a clearance space of 9 feet tall minimum to function." | No | 14 ft wide in the average room figure (10' H, 14' W, 17-18' D). | 2026-10-30 |
Enclosure frame sizes the calculator checks
External frame dimensions and base prices from the GolfLaunchLab enclosure database (manufacturer and first-party retailer pages). A range means a product line sold in several sizes. Frame depth is the enclosure itself; the hitting distance and any behind-ball sensor space are added by the calculator. Rows captured 2026-10-30 were re-priced from the live page on that date; the rest keep their 2026-07-21 capture. The full enclosure dataset, with screen specs and what each kit includes, is the Golf Simulator Enclosure Database.
| Enclosure | Width (ft) | Height (ft) | Depth (ft) | Base price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Indoor Golf Shop SIG8 Enclosure | 8.3 | 8.3 | 5 | $1,799.99 | page (2026-10-30) |
| The Indoor Golf Shop SIG10 Enclosure | 10.8 | 8.3 | 13.6 | $1,999.99 | page (2026-10-30) |
| The Indoor Golf Shop SIG12 Enclosure | 12.2 | 9.3 | 16 | $2,499.99 | page (2026-10-30) |
| The Indoor Golf Shop DIY Enclosure line (10 variants) | 8.3 to 15.3 | 7.9 to 10.3 | 5 | $1,619.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| The Indoor Golf Shop SIGPRO Commercial Enclosure line | 10.4 to 16.3 | 8 to 10.4 | 5 to 15 | $3,149.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| Carl's Place DIY Golf Simulator Enclosure Kit (C-Series) | 8.3 to 13.6 | 8 to 9.3 | 5.6 | $999.95 | page (2026-10-30) |
| Carl's Place Pro Golf Simulator Enclosure Kit | 11 to 15.9 | 8.5 to 10.3 | 6.6 to 16.6 | $3,409.95 | page (2026-10-30) |
| GoSports 10 x 8 ft Enclosure | 10.6 | 8 | 6 | $999.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| GoSports 12 x 9 ft Enclosure | 12 | 9 | 6 | $1,299.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| GoSports 14 x 8 ft Enclosure | 14.3 | 8 | 6 | $1,299.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| GoSports Range Cage ELITE 8 x 8 ft | 10 | 8.5 | 5 | $599.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| GoSports Pro Sim 12 x 9 ft Inflatable Enclosure | 12 | 9 | 7 | $1,299.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| SimSpace Platinum Golf Enclosure line (7 sizes) | 8.5 to 13.2 | 8.2 to 9.8 | 3.3 to 9.8 | $999.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| SimSpace SLIM Golf Enclosure | 11.2 | 8.5 | 3.6 | $999.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| SimSpace UltraMAX Golf Enclosure line (6 sizes) | 8.9 to 13.5 | 8.5 to 10.2 | 5.2 to 10.2 | $1,499.99 | page (2026-07-21) |
| The Net Return Simulator Bay 8 | 8 | 8.5 | 3.5 | $1,395.00 | page (2026-10-30) |
| The Net Return Simulator Bay 10 | 10 | 8.5 | 3.5 | $1,595.00 | page (2026-10-30) |
| The Net Return Simulator Bay 12 | 12 | 8.5 | 3.5 | $1,995.00 | page (2026-10-30) |
| SimBooth SimBooth 1 | 11.1 | 7.8 | 12 | $7,195.00 | page (2026-07-21) |
| SimBooth SimBooth 2 | 12.1 | 8.8 | 12 | $8,195.00 | page (2026-07-21) |
| SimBooth SimBooth 3 | 14.1 | 9.9 | 14.9 | $12,495.00 | page (2026-07-21) |
| SimBooth SimBooth 4 | 15.9 | 10.4 | 14.9 | $17,295.00 | page (2026-07-21) |
| Rain or Shine Golf SwingBay Enclosure line (2 sizes) | 10.4 to 12 | 8 to 9 | 4.2 | $1,999.00 | page (2026-10-30) |
What the Data Says
1. The sensor decides the depth, not the brand tier. Every published behind-ball figure starts with 5 to 10 ft between the unit and the ball before any ball flight, so a radar room is a long room. Beside-ball photometric units and overhead units remove that whole block, which is why a 12 ft deep room is realistic for a camera unit and not for a radar unit.
2. Ceiling is the least published, most decisive figure. SkyTrak+ / ST MAX, Blue Tees Rainmaker, Full Swing KIT, Uneekor EYE XO2, TrackMan iO publish a ceiling number or guideline; nobody else in the dataset does, and even the simulator retailers who write about it (11 sources in the table above) give bands such as 9 to 10 ft rather than a golfer-height table. That silence is why the planning bands exist, and why the calculator shows the published figures and the editorial band side by side instead of merging them into one false "requirement".
3. Handedness changes placement, not the room. No maker in the dataset publishes a different room size for left-handers. What changes is the follow-through wall and, for beside-ball units, which side of the ball the camera sits on. That is a setup fact worth knowing before you fix a mat and a monitor to the floor.
4. Enclosure frames change the depth question. Frame depths in the enclosure database run from about 3.5 ft (a screen-and-sides bay that sits at the end of the flight zone) to over 16 ft (a full-length kit that contains the hitting position). The depth budget in the calculator shows the sensor's published behind-ball plus ball-to-screen depth next to the frame depth and reports the larger of the two, so you can see which one governs your room before you order.
Method and Limits
GolfLaunchLab compiled the launch-monitor rows from manufacturer product pages, setup guides and manuals, and the enclosure rows from manufacturer and first-party retailer pages. Each row keeps the maker's own wording (minimum, recommended, general guideline) and the date it was captured. Where a maker publishes only placement (for example "5 ft behind the ball") the row is marked partial and the calculator gives placement guidance instead of a verdict. Where a maker publishes the parts but not a total (Garmin's 6 ft behind the tee plus 8 ft tee to net), the total is marked derived and the arithmetic is shown.
The golfer-height bands and the club table are editorial planning guidance from the ceiling-height guide, not measurements and not manufacturer figures. They are labelled that way in the calculator output, the tables and the downloads. The handedness side-clearance line is arithmetic on the width you enter. GolfLaunchLab does not bench-test launch monitors or measure rooms; the methodology page explains the research-and-analysis approach.
Downloads: launch-monitor space figures (CSV), enclosure frames (CSV), planning bands (CSV, labelled editorial), or everything with the guidance quotes (JSON).
FAQ
Get Better Golf-Gear Research in Your Inbox
New comparison guides, product updates, and practical simulator-planning research. No daily deal spam. Free bonus: the golf distance cheat sheet, instantly.